A Loyal Fan

God has more imagination than Walt Disney, Bill Gates, and Steven Spielberg combined. Just look at how God is using an old car tag with a football logo to affect my life.

The logo is a large, elegant, black fleur-de-lis, the symbol of the New Orleans Saints. It’s on the front of Dana’s car, parked five days a week in our driveway. Dana is one of my husband’s helpers. Their official title is “Certified Nursing Assistant” – but to us they are really Angels.

Dana and her husband were born and bred in New Orleans. Like thousands of others they fled the city after Hurricane Katrina. They settled in Atlanta. They have jobs here, children in the local schools, are buying the house they rented at first. Atlanta is now their home.

But New Orleans has their hearts.

They stay in close touch with their large extended families there and celebrate graduations, weddings, holidays with them back and forth. Their hometown loyalty includes passionate support for their football team.

Any day the Saints have a game, no matter where, Dana wears a scrub shirt with the Saints logo to work. But that’s just the beginning. She also has a warm, hooded Saints jacket, a Saints cap, a Saints scarf, Saints earrings, and a Saints necklace – a pretty trefoil on a silver chain. And of course Saints flags to flutter from their car on game days.

The Saints play the Atlanta Falcons twice a year. When the game is in Atlanta, Dana marks it early on her calendar, because all of their New Orleans kinfolks come to their house – in a rented bus! They bring marvelous groceries with them because “they’re just not the same in Atlanta” – crawfish, shrimp, crab, smoked sausage, corn, potatoes. They cook and feast all weekend on mouth-watering, genuine “N’Orleans” style gumbo, jambalaya, and shrimp and crab boil.

Hosting such activity would wipe me out, but Dana’s eyes shine as she reports what a wonderful time they had, looking forward to the next one.

When I see the Saints tag on her car I often wonder, “Do I care about ANYTHING as much as she does her beloved football team?” And that leads to more personal questions. Since my main goal in life is to become the “Nancy” God created me to be, by living a truly Christian life…how am I doing? What kind of fan of Christ am I, enthusiastic or just so-so? Can others detect Christ’s symbols in me – things like love, joy, peace, kindness, generosity? They are intangible qualities, but just as obvious and recognizable in a person as wearing a tee shirt or scarf.

These thoughts make me more than a little uncomfortable. I remember the sharp warning by the Apostle John: “So, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I am about to spit you out of my mouth.” WOW! (Revelation 3:16.)

But before too much guilt sets in, I remember the encouraging words of Paul,  God’s incredible cheerleader: “Do not lag in zeal, be ardent in spirit, serve the Lord.” (Romans 12:11.) And I’m inspired once more to do my best.

After all, Lord, I do want to be in that number when the Saints go marching in!

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “A Loyal Fan”

  1. God bless you, Nancy. Your writing talent and Christian faith are both still flourishing and shining. This message was just what I needed to start the day. Thanks for being such a blessing to so many. I’m proud to have been your editor back at the MDJ — even though you seldom needed editing. Love, Susan

    Like

    1. Oh me, thank you. No no no, not true but coming from you I doubly appreciate it. Hsve you retired? I know you thought of Leo last Sunday. We both had special fathers! love to you and Shel, Nancy

      Like

    2. Thank you Nancy. You continue to bring joy into our lives. I look forward to many more writings from you. We love you and your whole family.

      Like

      1. Thank you!! I appreciate so much the way the two of you always manage somehow to make me feel better about myself! That’s a special kind of friendship and love that you share. WE love all the Browns, too! I am especially enjoying talking with Ryan when he comes to help with our “lawn” (can you call it that when it’s more crabgrass and weeds?) He’s such a nice boy. Love, Nancy

        Like

  2. You definitely have “love, joy, peace and kindness” in your life!  You are full of it!Missed you at breakfast. Hope things are ok. Love,Barbara

    Like

  3. Lovely. You will be among the saints, probably thumping out the tune on a piano. Have you ever thought about taking up the accordion? More portable. Love you, St. Nancy.

    Like

  4. Nancy, you are such a great writer and so inspirational. I love your posts. I know where your children’s spirit, warmth, and personality comes from! I am sure Dallas, of course, was an influence also. I have had the wonderful experience of getting together with Dixie at the reunion and by e-mail. One cannot help but be lifted up by her enthusiasm and love. She has been so sweet asking about my Dad and Mom. I feel very lucky to have her as my friend! Dixie is also a saint!

    Like

    1. Ansley, what dear things for you to say. Dixir had so much fun planning and being at the reunion, and mentioned you a lot. I am so sorry that your daddy
      is coping with cancer. He has been so wonderful to visit us many times and each time he just lifts our spirits, so witty and a dear man. I hope he is not in pain. I want to talk to Farrice and see what’s going on. Thank you for your remarks about Dixiee. Of course I agree! And dearly love all you Callaways. 0

      Like

Leave a Reply

